Pancakes, anyone?

This past weekend, I spent most of it sick with a brutal head cold, chills, and sinus congestion.  ‘Tis the season – and it happens to me every year around this time, without fail.  On the flip side, my daughter C did use the potty all weekend!  We may almost be finished with pull-ups.  Woot woot!

My hubby recently got me a great book to celebrate some big changes in our lives.  This actually may be my most favourite thing he’s ever given to me.  The book is: The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck.  It goes well with my new attitude.  Here is a little snippet you may enjoy from the author’s website:

“Developing the ability to control and manage the f*cks you give is the essence of strength and integrity. We must craft and hone our lack of f*ckery over the course of years and decades. Like a fine wine, our f*cks must age into a fine vintage, only uncorked and given on the most special f*cking occasions.”  I mean, is this not the best?!  Let’s just say I’m on board with this mindset right now.

So, I applied this attitude to dinner today.  I just didn’t have any energy to deal with dinner rejection, or argue with miss C, the pickiest child there ever was.  I had made a healthy batch of protein pancakes on the weekend, and I remembered that I had frozen the leftovers for occasions such as – random Monday dinner when Mommy is solo parenting, tired, still sick, and frankly, out of f*cks to give.  Genius!  Fire up the toaster!

While C was eating her pancake dinner, she happily announced, “I love pancakes.  Pancakes are my favourite.”  It was a real winner of a dinner, which I also enjoyed. I even added peanut butter and a bunch of fruit to make it more balanced (yes?!).  Parenting win.

I recommend giving this refreshing attitude a whirl the next time you’re feeling stressed, or giving too much of a f*ck about something that doesn’t really deserve a f*ck.  It’s so liberating.  It really is.  Here’s another example of where I’ve been rocking this attitude: to my grey-ass roots.  I’m several weeks overdue for a root touch-up, so I’ve been wearing some super cute toques, and also heavily spraying my greys with root touch-up spray (seriously – the best product ever invented for dark-haired gals #blessed with their Dad’s early grey hair genes!).  Let me tell you, my hair appointment in a couple weeks cannot come soon enough…and in the meantime, I’ll just keep on wearing those toques, root spraying, and not giving a f*ck.

xo Leigh

Leave a Reply

