Transformation

You may remember a few posts ago I wrote about Me Time – and going on a people-pleasing hiatus.  Ever since that bold declaration three weeks ago that I was going to be taking some much needed “me time”, everything in my life has changed.

The very same day that I wrote the blog post that changed it all, I committed to my health and fitness.  I joined an accountability group with a (mostly) local group of amazing ladies.  8 weeks of a customized workout and meal plan.  Results, here I come!  3 weeks in, and I’m already down 9.5 inches.  This is a huge deal for me, as I’ve had major commitment issues when it comes to myself.  I’m good at starting, and then I usually quit after the first week or so.  More than the physical results, I’m proud of myself for sticking to it.  And I’m just feeling so much better overall.  My attitude is more positive, and I’m happier.  Which means I’m a better wifey and momma.  Win-win.

One week later, the next big change came.  I lost my job, out of the blue.  Nearly 12 years with the same company.  No warning.  Just a random phone call that changed my entire life.  This was very tough news to hear.  Since that call, inspirational quotes have been popping up all over my Facebook feed, almost like they were meant just for me.  One that stands out in particular is:  “When you can’t control what’s happening, challenge yourself to control the way you respond to what’s happening.  That’s where your power is.”  This couldn’t be more applicable to my current situation.  And – this philosophy also applies to how I hope to parent my daughter throughout the many challenges and hardships that will inevitably happen in her life.  Life is unpredictable.  Attitude is everything.

So, how am I doing?  I’ve never been better, actually.  I am writing this post as I watch the movers take my home office equipment away.  I am excited to start making space for the things that are most important.  I am undergoing a transformation that is only going to benefit everyone around me.  I feel like a whole new me – on my way to becoming the very best version of myself, both for me and for my family.  Leigh 2.0.  Wife 2.0.  Mom 2.0.

What I’ve learned about myself through all of these changes is that I’m much stronger than I thought I was.  The universe has an amazing way of delivering exactly what you need, at exactly the right moment.  While I don’t know exactly what is next for me, what I do know is that it involves a lot more change.  And I couldn’t be more excited.

xo Leigh

One thought on “Transformation

Leave a Reply

