The problem with Trump (from a Canadian mother’s perspective)

I’m really not a political person.  Sure, I have my opinions, I pay attention to the news, I vote when there is an election, I value the right to choose and to have a voice, but I’m really not passionately interested in what’s going on in the political world.  In Canada, I tend to fall a little more to the right than a liberal government, but I’m not terribly upset or overly excited regardless of who is in power.  So why has this election, an American election, one in which I can’t even vote, got me so upset???  It’s not about the politics!!!  It’s not about being liberal or conservative, left or right, Democrat or Republican.  It’s about so much more than that!  It’s about being a decent human being.

From a parent’s perspective, the whole thing is just absolutely mind-boggling.  As parents, we try to teach our children to be kind, compassionate, loving, caring, and accepting of all people, everywhere.  We teach our children to be respectful of others and to be understanding of people’s differences.  We teach our children not to judge someone by the colour of their skin, or by the religion that they practice, or by their sexual orientation.  We teach our daughters that they are every bit as good as our sons, and we teach our sons to respect our daughters.  We are all equal and no matter what, we are to treat others the way that we would like to be treated.  By electing Donald Trump to be President, we are teaching our children that everything we have taught them about love and acceptance and kindness is absolute bull shit.

My two oldest daughters are now old enough to be able to understand what they see and hear in the media, and no matter what I do to try to shield them from it, they hear it, and believe me, they are affected by it.  So when they ask me questions about why Donald Trump (or, The Bad Man as they call him) wants to build a wall at the Mexican border because the Mexicans are “rapists and murderers”, or why he wants to deport the Muslims because “all Muslims are terrorists”, or why he thinks it’s his right, as a rich, male celebrity, to grab a woman by her very most private parts, what am I to say??  How can I explain this?  I just kept telling them that his Mother had not taught him how to be kind and that they should not worry because “there was no way he was going to be elected as President”.  It gave them, and me, comfort to know that he was just one man.  That he did not speak for the masses.  That he did not represent the feelings of the general public.  That him, and his hate-filled campaign, would all be over shortly and we could all move on with our lives and forget that he ever existed.  Sadly, I was wrong.  I was absolutely devastated to have to tell my daughters that this, terrible, Bad Man, had won the election because the people of the United States of America chose him.

As a woman, as a Mother, as a Canadian, and as a human being, I am unbelievably disappointed.  I thought that we, as a society had come so far. I thought that we had begun to break down barriers that divided people by race, colour, religion, sex or sexual preference.   I thought that we lived in a society that was vehemently fighting against bullying and that we had truly started to accept people for who they were.  I thought that, for the most part, we understood that our differences do not make us better or worse than any other human being, they simply make us unique.  I truly believed that good would conquer evil!  How could I have been so naive??  How could they have gotten this so wrong??

xo Michelle

Leave a Reply

