In the kitchen with my little love

I love to cook and bake, host and entertain, bring homemade food to new mommas, and mostly, I love to eat!  Anything involving food, I’m in!  I come by it honestly – my Mom is the quintessential “hostess with the mostest”.  Growing up, our family was spoiled with homemade everything for most meals.  Now that I have my own little family, most of our family meals and snacks are homemade too.  For me, homemade cooking and baking is such a special way to say, “I love you”.

Recently, my little love C has shown quite an interest in helping out in the kitchen.  Because she is a very picky eater, this is also a tactic that I’ve been using to help her become more comfortable with lots of different ingredients and textures.  I even get her to help well before we start creating in the kitchen – it starts at the grocery store.  C loves to put all the ingredients in bags at the store.  This is another tactic for increasing exposure in picky eaters.  I digress.

Today I wanted to share C’s favourite homemade muffin recipe.  It’s a super easy, super delicious banana-blueberry muffin that I’ve adapted over time with a few healthy swaps.  The original recipe came from my Looneyspoons cookbook.  Swap in any kind of berry that you like.  I always have a couple dozen on hand in the freezer, for an easy grab-and-go option.

Try this one out with your little(s).  Happy Baking!

xo, Leigh

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quick-cooking rolled oats (not instant)
  • ½ cup each all-purpose flour and whole wheat flour
  • ½ cup coconut sugar (or granulated sugar)
  • ¼ cup ground flaxseed or wheat germ
  • 1½ tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1½ cups mashed ripe bananas (about 3 large or 4 small)
  • ¼ cup coconut oil (or butter), melted
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

Directions

Preheat oven to 375°F. Spray a 12-cup muffin tin with cooking spray and set aside. Combine oats, both flours, sugar, ground flaxseed (or wheat germ), baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Mix well and set aside. In a medium bowl, whisk together bananas, butter (or coconut oil) and egg. Add banana mixture to dry ingredients and stir just until dry ingredients are moistened. Gently fold in blueberries.

Divide batter among 12 muffin cups. Bake for 20 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.

Makes 12 muffins

Leave a Reply

