Me time

Today I feel like Mila Kunis’ character from the Bad Moms movie.  Not at the beginning of the movie, where she appears so put together and perfect.  No.  I’m talking about the point in the movie where she snaps; she decides she’s done with trying to please everyone and trying to be all things to all people.  I’m going on a people-pleasing hiatus – and I’m excited about it.

I talk a lot about having some of my shit together, some of the time.  Lately, this couldn’t be more accurate.  Here is a little taste of the #blessed day I had today: wake up to a sick child, who is coughing like a little seal pup (yay, croup!).  Ok, so she’s not going to daycare, and I won’t be working.  Only I will be (I work from my home office), so I’ll log in and work during the only free time that I have during the day, which is at naptime.  Sweet.  Next, I’ll give the kid a bath, and I’ll even wash her hair today.  Yes, this is a great idea.  Because she only cries EVERY time I wash her hair.  No, it’s not quite crying…it’s more like screaming, as though she is being tortured.   That’s a far more accurate description.  Somehow survive bath time, and then I decide to take a shower.  Paw Patrol marathon for C on the iPad while I shower?  Absolutely.  I might as well shave too, because C said to me earlier in the day “Mommy picky.  Mommy shave?”.  One of her favourite things is to tell me when I need to shave.  It’s rather helpful, I must say.   Shower and shave.  Check.

The rest of the day goes something like this: a few loads of laundry, folding the laundry, putting the laundry away, cleaning a bathroom, bringing in the garbage cans from the road, checking the mail, organizing the basement, making meals and snacks, putting the dog outside countless times, feeding the dog, responding to emails, texts, phone calls, and taking care of my sick little nugget.  Did I mention that I’ve also been sick all week, travelled for work earlier in the week, and now I have my period?  I’m exhausted.  Not like ‘I need to sleep’ tired.  I’m emotionally and physically drained.  I don’t remember the last time I spent time doing something just for me.  Can’t remember the last time I exercised.  I really should start exercising again.

This post was not meant to be a complaining rant.  It was meant to illustrate that no matter how many things you try and do in a day, or how many people you try and please, it will never be enough to make everyone happy.  You’ll only be making yourself crazy.

So, I’m taking some ‘me time’ for the next little while.  If I seem like I just don’t care about the usual things, it’s because I just don’t.  I care about putting myself first right now.  So that’s exactly what I’m going to do.

xo Leigh (or as Mila’s character would say, PEACE!)

One thought on “Me time

Leave a Reply

