Going with the flow

I love spontaneity.  And I’m also a routine person.  Or at least I am when it comes to my daughter C and her sleep.  Ever since C was very young, she has done well with a consistent routine when it comes to sleep.  She’s one of those kids that really needs a solid nap and 12 hours of sleep at night, or else she’s a hot mess (and then so am I!).  My hubby’s work schedule takes him away from home a lot; so I am often solo parenting.  I suppose the routine developed naturally, and also out of necessity.  Don’t get me wrong – I’ve definitely strayed from the daily routine from time to time; however, handling the cranky toddler aftermath alone is usually not worth it to me, so I rarely take the risk.

I’ve been at the receiving end of many eye rolls and judgy comments about being a stickler with my routine.  I’ve also had many friends ask me to share my secrets.  If there’s one thing that motherhood has taught me, it’s that you can’t please everyone (nor should you try to!).  Momfidence (aka mom confidence) took me a long time to develop.  At the beginning especially, it’s hard to feel like you’re doing the right thing.  I grew up always trying to please everyone…and now, I give zero F’s.  More on that in a future post!

This past week we rented a lake house with friends, and I made a conscious effort to go with the flow, knowing full well that our usual schedule would be thrown off, and that it would be totally ok.  There were 6 kids of various ages, and many don’t nap anymore.  C still needs a daily nap, usually 2 hours, or else – pack the wine and run for the hills!  But I wasn’t about to miss out on boat rides, beach days, or other fun times, so I decided to shake things up while on vacation.  Naps were later, shorter, or didn’t happen at all.  Naps happened on the beach.  Naps happened on a boat.  Bedtime was much later.   And you know what?  I was relaxed about it.   Everyone survived.  Lots of wine was consumed.

There was a lot of self-reflection going on last week.  It was good for C to go with the flow.  But more importantly, it was good for me.  I felt relaxed for the first time in a long time.  Fast forward to this week – it’s a different story!  We are back at home and our usual routine.  C is a scalding hot mess mood-wise.  Perhaps she is protesting the routine, or perhaps it’s the less sleep catching up with her.  Who really knows!  All I know is it’s tough being 2.  Stay tuned more on that in an upcoming “a day in the life” post.

xo Leigh

3 thoughts on “Going with the flow

  1. This is the first time I’ve heard the word “momfidence” and I love it. It takes a lot to be a mum and stand behind our decisions, especially when you are new at it. I’m finding that your mothering style is an extension of your personality & that’s why comments and judgements can hurt/sting so much because they feel like attacks on who you are.

    Here’s to boosting our momfidence!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

